Volt gauge fluctuating, flickering lights | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Volt gauge fluctuating, flickering lights

New2fixing

Reaction score
City, State
Detroit, MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Explorer Sport Trac
I just want to say thanks in advance for any advice or help you guys can share . I've gotten a lot of great info from this site. But the issues I'm having are confusing the hell out of me. I'm new to trying to fix my truck so I don't know tons about how everything works but I'm learning.

Anyway, so I have a 2001 Explorer Sport Trac 4wd .

The voltage meter has been dropping pretty low almost to nothing .it would drop every time I use the AC, roll down the windows or run my headlights .took it to AutoZone to get a volt test and I feel like they knew what they were doing about as much as I did. I was trying to get a volt reading on my battery, then see how much voltage I got from my alternator with the truck running. But the AutoZone person said "well your battery is at %65 so it's gotta be your alternator" . I tried to clean my old one first in case the coils were just dirty . didn't work. Money's tight so I bought a DB electrical "new" alternator. Seems like it ran better at first but I'm still having the same issue. Rough idle, headlights flicker, AC slows down and dash lights dim. So i'm guessing it's not a bad voltage regulator on the new alternator, so what could it be? Bad wiring? Loose tension on the serpentine belt? Bad serpentine belt? I just don't know.

Thanks again for taking the time to to read and answer my post guys! Have a great day!
-Al

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!