want 38s on my 91 explorer xlt im new at this what do i need??? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

want 38s on my 91 explorer xlt im new at this what do i need???

codylovesphilly

Reaction score
City, State
stafford virginia
Year, Model & Trim Level
explorer 91 xlt
so i got a 91 explorer xlt for 500 bucks runs great but i wanna lift it and put some 38s on it but i dont know what i need but i dont want to spend alot i dont mind spending money on stuff that will get me buy i dont need top of the line so if anyone can help it would be nice

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Search a bit but if all else fails, you can get a reciprocating saw for ~$75 and go to town :D

0adc6d53-cf0e-49d2-a921-9381749e56f1_300.jpg

codylovesphilly search the site.

theres, tons and tons of threads to read for a SAS.

Solid Axle Swap (SAS) would probably end up costing you a few thousand (weather in $$ or labor). If you don't care about top of the line:

1) Buy a 4" Rough Country Suspension Lift ($600)
2) Buy 8" Coil Springs & 2" Daystar Coil Spacers for upfront ($300)
3) Do a SOA in the rear. ($100)
4) 3" Body Lift ($150)

I don't know what else you would need, but I would say you could get 13" of lift and probably fit 38s with that set up. Keep in mind the TTB was not made for tires that large, anything of 35 and you risk doing harm to the setup. Some people were alright, other went through bearing and bearing and what not. I would say the above lift isn't the safest lift for driving on the road. If it's an offroad vehicle I wouldn't see why not. It's cheaper then the SAS but wouldn't preform as good as a SAS. You can do that now and then maybe save up to do a SAS, and you would still be able to lift the rear another 6" easily to fit even bigger tires.