• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Waze will be available in 3.0!!!


Mooton

New Member
Joined
July 26, 2017
Messages
29
Reaction score
6
City, State
San Francisco, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer Platinum
Ford integrates Waze navigation app in Sync 3

This is amazing news for Apple CarPlay users! I'm curious how it will work with CarPlay, though. It's not a CarPlay app - it's a native Sync 3 app. But can CarPlay be enabled while Waze is available? Or does CarPlay need to be disabled first? Sort of how you can't use Sync 3's Navigation unless CarPlay is disabled.

In any event, tip of the cap to Ford for making this happen.

Has anyone with a pre-released version of 3.0 or a 2018 with 3.0 seen this actually work?
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




ilguy

New Member
Joined
October 28, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
City, State
Chicago
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer Platinum
Ford integrates Waze navigation app in Sync 3

This is amazing news for Apple CarPlay users! I'm curious how it will work with CarPlay, though. It's not a CarPlay app - it's a native Sync 3 app. But can CarPlay be enabled while Waze is available? Or does CarPlay need to be disabled first? Sort of how you can't use Sync 3's Navigation unless CarPlay is disabled.

In any event, tip of the cap to Ford for making this happen.

Has anyone with a pre-released version of 3.0 or a 2018 with 3.0 seen this actually work?

Maybe this means they will finally launch the SMARTLINK service they announced at CES last year!
 




Mlarv5

Active Member
Joined
November 8, 2010
Messages
369
Reaction score
36
City, State
Crossville TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Platinum Ruby Red
Ford supports it from V2.3 and on. Currently Waze does not have the correct interface SW to make it work. Should be out around March. This I just finished reading on the F150forum.
 




Mooton

New Member
Joined
July 26, 2017
Messages
29
Reaction score
6
City, State
San Francisco, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer Platinum
Ford supports it from V2.3 and on. Currently Waze does not have the correct interface SW to make it work. Should be out around March. This I just finished reading on the F150forum.

I just went through that F150 thread and there were several references to Waze making this available in March (though I couldn't find that mention in Waze's press release). It also sounded like that may sync up with Ford's official release of 3.0 which is, in the words of a Ford person I spoke with yesterday, "a few weeks away if all goes well". And given that 2.3 doesn't add any real functionality over 2.2, I would expect 3.0 to be a requirement.
 




ilguy

New Member
Joined
October 28, 2017
Messages
18
Reaction score
1
City, State
Chicago
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer Platinum
Maybe I'm reading too much in to it but for all of the pre-2018 sync 3 users that don't currently have a cellular enabled (SMARTLINK) car, I would assume SMARTLINK would be required for the Waze connectivity so it can send and receive the data without the smartphone attached as the presser suggests.
 




thefranchise713

Well-Known Member
Joined
April 22, 2016
Messages
1,246
Reaction score
156
City, State
Buffalo, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
'18 Toyota Prius Prime
It's running through AppLink, not CarPlay, and it shouldn't require SmartLink because Waze's connectivity would be coming through the phone running it.
 




Mooton

New Member
Joined
July 26, 2017
Messages
29
Reaction score
6
City, State
San Francisco, CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2017 Explorer Platinum
It's running through AppLink, not CarPlay, and it shouldn't require SmartLink because Waze's connectivity would be coming through the phone running it.

That's the way I understand it. And AppLink (or at the least, this Waze app) requires a USB connection since it's mirroring the app from the phone and that amount of data cannot be transferred quickly enough over Bluetooth.
 




suzook

Active Member
Joined
December 31, 2006
Messages
326
Reaction score
20
City, State
ny
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Explorer XLT
Just got my new 2018 XLT, and figuring out what the deal with waze is. Do i need android auto working? Or does it run on its own?
 




15Limited

Elite Explorer
Joined
February 28, 2015
Messages
249
Reaction score
35
City, State
TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Sport 4x4
Just got my new 2018 XLT, and figuring out what the deal with waze is. Do i need android auto working? Or does it run on its own?

You have Waze working/on on your phone then plug your phone into your vehicle...Waze will then display on your Sync screen.
 




suzook

Active Member
Joined
December 31, 2006
Messages
326
Reaction score
20
City, State
ny
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Explorer XLT
You have Waze working/on on your phone then plug your phone into your vehicle...Waze will then display on your Sync screen.
OK, Thanks. There's a nice "hack" using an old android phone with your new one to make Android auto wireless. If it works out, I will post results here.
 




thefranchise713

Well-Known Member
Joined
April 22, 2016
Messages
1,246
Reaction score
156
City, State
Buffalo, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
'18 Toyota Prius Prime
It should be an app that can run natively on Sync 3, without Android Auto or CarPlay. You may need to go into Apps on the Sync 3 screen and tell it to scan/find apps on your phone.
 




jhu8

Active Member
Joined
March 23, 2018
Messages
370
Reaction score
39
City, State
Maryland
Year, Model & Trim Level
17 Ford Explorer Limited
OK, Thanks. There's a nice "hack" using an old android phone with your new one to make Android auto wireless. If it works out, I will post results here.

Post this hack!! :)

Also for android, you need to have AA setup. I think it is only Apple where waze can run standalone. But I heard its pretty bad. But yeah, post the wireless android hack. Would love to check that out.
 




suzook

Active Member
Joined
December 31, 2006
Messages
326
Reaction score
20
City, State
ny
Year, Model & Trim Level
2018 Explorer XLT
Post this hack!! :)

Also for android, you need to have AA setup. I think it is only Apple where waze can run standalone. But I heard its pretty bad. But yeah, post the wireless android hack. Would love to check that out.
[Android 3.0+]Proxy/GateWay for Android Auto

I got it working once, but after a restart I have to completely reset everything. The Dev is still working on it. Would be nice to just jump in your car, and AA just connects.
 




peterk9

Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
December 28, 2010
Messages
28,648
Reaction score
1,777
City, State
Russell, Ontario (Ottawa area)
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Aviator Reserve
Callsign
VE3
Just got my new 2018 XLT, and figuring out what the deal with waze is. Do i need android auto working? Or does it run on its own?
Your thread was moved here. There are a few more on Waze.

Peter
 




Argentimage

Active Member
Joined
July 25, 2009
Messages
206
Reaction score
19
City, State
MI
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 Limited
do not know why the Ford's would be lagging but in a Lincoln, the waze app is better than native on the phone, it has short cuts to report accidents and 'other' items, on touch instead of having to hit two or three on the phone, need to call the hot line that should be listed in the SYNC quick start to get help, if you don't ask, you won't receive.
 




Top