• Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Web Server?


IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
I know people who have used thier computer as a web server and used their IP address as thier address. What program do I need to do this? Thanx
 


Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




Jason_25

Elite Explorer<br>ECX Member
Joined
November 26, 2000
Messages
5,340
Reaction score
3
City, State
New Bern, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 Explorer "Expedition"
First, let me start out by asking you what kind of internet service you use? I use Cox cable and they have blocked many of my incoming ports so I can no longer host web pages from home. This has pissed me off enough to where I am going to switch to DSL.

Anyway, you need a dynamic DNS account and service running on your server. This technique maps a static hostname (your internet address) to your dynamic ip address (assigned and refreshed by your ISP) so as long as the update service is running in the background, any one on the net can reach your server by typing a simple internet address into their browser, ftp, etc....

This is the one I used.
http://www.dyndns.org/services/
 




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
I have DSL, But a friend of mine, who I no longer talk to, had a program that came with XP that would act as a server. If you would type his IP address in, it would go to his website. I don't need a www.watever.com if you no what i mean. I can just link it from my geocities account. I searched through XP and I have found no such program.
 




Jefe

Well-Known Member
Joined
January 7, 2001
Messages
4,869
Reaction score
2
City, State
Clarksville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 XLT 4x4
If You have XP Pro then IIS (Internet Information Services) can be installed as a part of windows.

I've set up and used IIS on many machines if you need any help.

Otherwise you can install free web server software, which can sometimes be tricky to set up.

I use Sambar Server (mostly for FTP services):
http://www.sambar.com/

I believe Apache is also free:
http://www.apache.org/
 




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
So you can't get IIS in the Home Edition?
 




Jefe

Well-Known Member
Joined
January 7, 2001
Messages
4,869
Reaction score
2
City, State
Clarksville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 XLT 4x4
Originally posted by IAmTodd
So you can't get IIS in the Home Edition?
I found a website once that showed how you could. . but you needed the XP Pro CD to get files off of. I never got it to work though.

Much easier to just download free web server software.
 








IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
I'm having a hard time finding how to download off of those 2 sites, they're confusing:(
 




Jason_25

Elite Explorer<br>ECX Member
Joined
November 26, 2000
Messages
5,340
Reaction score
3
City, State
New Bern, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 Explorer "Expedition"




Howard

Moderator Elite Explorer
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
4,203
Reaction score
3
City, State
Milton Keynes
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 SOHC UK SPEC
The only other problem you are going to have is if your ISP asigns you a different IP address every time you connect.
 




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
with my DSL modem, the IP address stays same all the time. Everytime it has to reconnect, or i turn it off, it stays the same. I've talked to other people where theres changes each time, so i guess i'm just special!
 




Howard

Moderator Elite Explorer
Staff member
Moderator
Elite Explorer
Joined
May 17, 2002
Messages
4,203
Reaction score
3
City, State
Milton Keynes
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 SOHC UK SPEC
In that case your set all you need is apache. When you've set it up let us know the IP address. (just curious).
 




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
Just got it downloaded, I'll let u guys know tonite, i'm so happy :D
 




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
I have it downloaded, now i just don't know which service to use?!
 




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
New questoin. How do I get my Front Page site published to it?
 




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
Woo Wooooo! I got it working! I used AnalogX SimpleServer. Wow was that easy. It doesn't log anything but it still works!

Take a Look!

Tell me what you thing and if there are any problems that you see! thanks!
 




XplorerKid

Rolling on 37"s
Joined
July 25, 2002
Messages
4,623
Reaction score
1
City, State
Winter Haven Fl
Year, Model & Trim Level
1997 Xplorer
that looks great man

keep it up

i would use it but like i told u i have dial up
and my server would be down half the time than

PEACE
 










Join the Elite Explorers for $20 per year. Gets rid of the ads! New $5 per month "try out" option.

Explorer Forum has probably saved you that much already, and will continue to save you money as you learn how to diagnose fix problems yourself and learn which modifications work without having to experiment on your own. Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private Conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




IAmTodd

4x Explorer Veteran
Joined
April 8, 2002
Messages
8,886
Reaction score
5
City, State
Johnstown, PA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Jeep Cherokee
Just my hard drive. As far as i know. The only thing i don't like, but i'm going to have to deal with, is using my IP Address. AnalogX is soo easy. Its drag and drop. You drag index.htm into the box and it does the rest. I just had to set up my modem to go to my computer when someone requested the page, and it does the rest!

EDIT- BTW thanks!
 




Top