What are these wires, tail light. | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

What are these wires, tail light.

Nuttzeh

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 explorer eb
I'm not a mechanic by any means, I do play with car stereo wiring but that's as in depth as I get.

When I went to change my tail light I noticed a little harness with what looked like a red nipple and four wires coming out that were cut. I want to know what this is

All of my lights work, my rear backup sensors do not but those appear to be smaller wires.

Previous owner installed a tow bracket so he may have disabled the sensors, I have no idea. But I've narrowed it down to the wires for my sensors or the wires for maybe wiring up a trailer light plug.

If this is a factory feature I'm sure you guys would know. I don't know whyat it is but I don't like cut wires if I don't know what they are for.

Also while I'm here, what are the speaker wire colors POST amp in a 2000 explorer Eddie Bauer I'm installing a new head unit and don't want to run all new wires if I can just tap in back there and bypass the factory amp

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Trailer lights connector. For some reason Ford chose to use a round plug on our generation of Explorers, while virtually all trailers use a straight one. Adapters exist, but the previous owner probably just cut off the round plug and soldered a standard straight one to the harness -- which is a much more reliable solution.

When I went to change my tail light I noticed a little harness with what looked like a red nipple and four wires coming out that were cut. I want to know what this is.