• Register Today It's free!

what do these codes mean?

HappyGilmore

Reaction score
City, State
Long Beach, California
Year, Model & Trim Level
'94 Sport 2WD
i hope i am posting in the correct forum. feel free to move if not.

i did the self test on my 94 explorer sport because it has a somewhat rough idle and gets bad gas milage. i clean my MAF every couple oil changes (which helps) but i ran the self test to see if there was anything else because it still isnt perfect and the gas milage still sucks. heres the codes i came up with:

KOEO 335

CO 543

can anyone tell me what these mean?
thank you

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Check your fuel pressure

O.K here goes my Haynes manual lists:

335= EGR sensor voltage out of range

543= fuel pump citcuit open; battery to pcm

Now I'm no expert but I believe the egr valve or sensor could have to do with your rough idle problem, but my guess is that the fuel pump circiut being open sould have other symptoms.

Hope this helps
Glen

live2_4x4 is on the right track. A KOEO 335 could certainly be part of a bad idle and other driveability problems. As a KOEO code, it has to be an electrical fault, which means it can't be the EGR valve itself. PFE/DPFE sensors on these frequently seem to fail. If the wiring between the PFE/DPFE checks out OK, then it's probably the sensor that's bad.

As for the CM543, this could be an old code (clear CM codes by pulling jumper during KOEO/CM code output, drive, and see if this code returns) or it could indicate an intermittent fault in the fuel pump and/or fuel pump monitor circuits.

ok so i decided not to be lazy.i did an indepth search on this forum, looking through many many threads. this is what they said:

1. PFE/DPFE sensor is also called an EGR position sensor