• Register Today It's free!

What would you do?

tishpit

Reaction score
City, State
Florida
Year, Model & Trim Level
2014 Chevrolet Spark
Have an interesting situation and would like some feedback. I am NEW to the Explorer, having had a 2004 Jeep Liberty and Wrangler (loved the Lib, very disappointed in the Wrangler) and Ford Escape and Mazda Tribute SUVs. (Also had a 1989 Bronco II back in the days!). I need a mid-size SUV to haul dogs, yard sale stuff, and elderly parents. I now drive a Chevy Spark (great MPG, but not enough room).

Looking for a second vehicle and found on Craigs List a 1997 Explorer XLT 4x4 with 236,000 miles, 4.0 V6. Took a look and the transfer case is stuck on 4WD Lo (shift motor????), has an exhaust leak, power driver's seat back doesn't work, and vacuum leak (owner showed which hose needed changed), needs paint. Ran o.k. overall, interior is fair (some torn and ragged parts, but usable), body is good (solid). Got it for $400 and planned to use for a parts vehicle and for business (students to practice auto repair/body work skills). But didn't really consider it for actual street use. Then recently found a very nice 1999 Explorer XLT V8, loaded, a little surface rust here and there, 144,000 miles, immaculate interior, new tires, runs nice for a hair under $2,000. It does need a new windshield (cracked), some minor rust repair, and the infamous cruise control buttons are missing (1 side).

So here is the question... the choice is buy second Explorer and keep 1st for parts OR just repair the 1997 and use as second vehicle. I know, I need to have a mechanic look at and give a estimate on repairs on '97... so basing on what we know is wrong with it. Will need "mobile" mechanic as only running in 4WD Lo, so cannot go too far. Prev. owner drove it to our property, about 3 - 4 miles away... very slowly! He did disconnected the front drive shaft.