• Register Today It's free!

Wheel Bearing Question

n0c7

Reaction score
City, State
Edmonton, Alberta
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Ford Explorer XLT
After a recent alignment on our 93 Explorer XLT we were told that the wheel bearings had a bit of play(which they did at 12 and 6 o'clock, both front left and right wheels) not much, but enough to notice there was some. They recommended a new seal, the one that goes into the back of the rotor, as well as repacking the wheel bearings. Today I began to do the work, pulling out all of the bearings and brake components, etc. The wheel bearings, once cleaned, looked fine as well as all the rest of the parts. I repacked them, put it all back together, put the wheel back on, and the play was still there. I repacked them by hand, which I'm not very good at, and the wheel bearings now make some noise on the inital around the block test drive. I'm going to pick up a packer tomorrow and redo it properly, but basically my question is - is a small amount of play, about equal on both sides, acceptable/normal or should I look at replacing the wheel bearings? And as for the slight noise, I'm thinking lack of grease as the culprit, as there was no noise prior?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

...you know....

..funny thing you should mention wheel bearings right now...

Check out this carnage:

This happened after I noticed a 'little play' in the wheels, and didn't REALLY check out the culprit. It damaged my spindle a little, just enough to NOT get a good seal on the wheel seal....a new spindle is being located right now.

After this happened, I STILL had to drive another 20 miles to get it home...

Ryan

Attachments

• DSC02634.JPG
    DSC02634.JPG
    25.9 KB · Views: 568

If the play is at 6 and 12, it's probably NOT the wheel bearings, it's the ball joints.