Which brand for external transmission filter? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Which brand for external transmission filter?

Hitchhikingmike

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Dallas, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
'02 XLS
Hello,

I am convinced after reading a few threads that I need to install an external transmission filter on my explorer.

However, since I am new to transmission filters, I have a few questions.

It appears that transmission external filter mounts use just regular engine oil filters, is this true? Or are there "special" filters made just for transmission fluid.

Also, can some one please tell me where are some good places online to purchase a quality external transmission filter kit?

Are there any brands I should avoid? Any brands that make exceptional external transmission filter kits?

Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I run a motorcraft FL1A filter for my external trans filter. I've also run a mobil 1 m1-301 (I'm pretty sure thats the right filter number). They are just regular oil filters...

~Mark

I have an actual transmission filter that fits inline. I have it installed coming out of the external cooler. I'm trying to remember who makes it, but it's a name brand and NAPA carries it too. But I would think that something like an FL-1A would be a better filter. I have nothing to base that on, but it seems to make sense to me. I installed mine after a complete overhaul. Once I have some miles on it so anything left over would have been filtered, I think I'll remove it. It's just something not needed in the system any longer. I wouldn't worry about it with the FL-1A and it's bypass.