which parts are not supposed to be covered by rust protector | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

which parts are not supposed to be covered by rust protector

Reaction score
I am a new driver. My car chassis has some rust, looks serious.
I am planning to try the rust protector to delay the process. Protector like POR-15 looks good. But, problem is, under the car, I can only tell which is emission tube and which is oil tank, nothing else. So I am wondering, if I paint POR to bottom of the car, which parts can be painted, which parts can not be painted. If I ask small dealer to cover a coat, it costs $80, and only effective for 2 years. If I do it DIY, it may cost less and last longer.:)

I am appreciated if you can help me.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I think that you can paint any metal parts which doesn't get hot. I don't think that you can paint on the Cat or Muffler because those gets hot.

I am going to buy the paint, crawl under the car, and paint the bottom with a brush. Now, I am wondering, is there anybody who did the same thing like me? I do not expect to have a risk of making a big idiot mistake.

In other words, don't paint the exhaust. The piping that the smoke comes out of.

That is a good question -
When using Por-15, do not cover any nut or bolt (fasteners).If you must apply coating in area, take out bolts & nuts or cover w/masking tape. I would also avoid the brake & fuel line connections.
I hope this reply will give you confidence. If not, ask more questions.......