Who has changed their Pioneer 6 disc for aftermarket HU? | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! This box and some ads will disappear once registered!

Who has changed their Pioneer 6 disc for aftermarket HU?

Mr.Fork

Member
Joined
January 4, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
City, State
Scotch Plains, NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 XLT
Looking for some advice. I have an 04 with the adrenalin package(pioneer 6 disc, amp, sub). I got the metra 70-5517 harness to connect to a Pioneer head unit, wired everything up on the main harness, attached the blue/white remote wire to the smaller harness blue/ white wire, amp ground to the amp ground wire on the bigger harness, and plugged the white RCA into the white Sub rca jack on the back of the head unit. The only wire that did not have a corresponding wire was an orange "illumination ground".

I have power to the radio but no sound from any speaker or the sub. I expected to get a pop sound on start from running 12v to the amp but don't even get that. Is there anything obvious I missed or do I need to start checking wires going to the amp?
 
<

Join the Elite Explorers $20 Gets rid of the ads!

Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links, can add their own profile photo, upload photo attachments in all forums, and Media Gallery, create and save more private conversations, and more. Join Today. Your support is greatly appreciated.




JuBean

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 22, 2013
Messages
137
Reaction score
3
City, State
Roxborough CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
2002 Sport Trac
Check polarity on the speaker out put wires. On several of the Pioneer decks I have installed over the years if one of the speakers was opposite the others nothing happened.
I know this is a silly question but did you just match the wire colors or go through and confirm function of the wire on both sides (harness and receiver)
 
<



sporttracinva

Member
Joined
May 23, 2014
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
City, State
VA
Year, Model & Trim Level
2005 ST Adrenalin
Either use a line output converter(i think the brand I bought and used was schosche) or you will have to run all new speaker wire from the new aftermarket head unit. Do yourself a favor and add a resistor to your remote turn on wire to lower the voltage from 12 to 6 so you don't get the dreaded hum and amp pop as well.
 
<



Mr.Fork

Member
Joined
January 4, 2010
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
City, State
Scotch Plains, NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
96 XLT
What is the purpose of a line output converter? I was under the impression that using the right harness adapter would be all that is needed. Any idea which converter you used, there seems to be several
 
<



jmmorgan82

Active Member
Joined
September 23, 2013
Messages
65
Reaction score
0
City, State
San Marcos, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Sport Trac 4x4
I'm not familiar with the Adrenalin audio package, but if it is anything similar to the Mach 460 system that was in my old Mustang, you will be better off running new speaker wire to the doors and replacing the speakers while you're at it.
 
<



Top