Why did Ford do this??? | Ford Explorer - Ford Ranger Forums - Serious Explorations

  • Register Today It's free! Once registered you can join the Elite Explorers to eliminate ads from the website.

Why did Ford do this???

stubborn1

Well-Known Member
Joined
August 15, 2003
Messages
189
Reaction score
0
City, State
WISCONSIN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'98 4wd XL
I've been having issues with my ABS activating at low speeds off and on. Instead of looking for the problem when its -5 degrees outside, I thought I would just pull the fuse to deactivate the system and fix it in spring.

I pulled the ABS fuse and it deactivated more than the ABS system. The speedometer stopped working. I drove around the block and sure enough, the odometer wasn't logging any new mileage. Being the ethical person I am, I replaced the fuse so I had a working speedometer (and odometer).

Theoretically, you could pull your ABS fuse and run up the miles without logging them on the odometer. Why would Ford design something like this???
 



Join the Elite Explorers $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!
.



rfuree11

Official Bikini Inspector
Joined
May 20, 2002
Messages
1,362
Reaction score
0
City, State
Boston
Year, Model & Trim Level
07 WRX Limited
i dunno why they'd do that, but i just disco'd one of my sensors (alec's advice) cause my larger tires were throwing the abs off int he snow and that works fine
 






Jefe

Explorer Addict
Joined
January 7, 2001
Messages
4,856
Reaction score
9
City, State
Clarksville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 XLT 4x4
The reason it does this is because on 98+ Ford uses the ABS sensors as the VSS (vehicle speed sensor). However, I was unaware that pulling the ABS fuse completely dissabled the VSS. :rolleyes: After a few runs like that it'll turn on the Check Engine Light.
 






Doug

Moderator Emeritus
Joined
August 30, 2001
Messages
5,721
Reaction score
4
City, State
Sykesville, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020
yup, i knew someone who wired in a switch so he could turn his odometer off.
 






Hartman

Explorer Addict
Joined
October 16, 2001
Messages
8,369
Reaction score
3
City, State
Indianapolis, IN
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 5.0
LOL!
 






32to1

Member
Joined
January 15, 2004
Messages
41
Reaction score
0
City, State
Haleyville, AL
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 XLT, '95 Z/28
99% of modern vehicle's odometer's now days run of the spedometer, all you have to do to run up miles is disable the spedometer sensor located in most vehicle's tailshafts, rear ends or ABS systems.;)
 






Jefe

Explorer Addict
Joined
January 7, 2001
Messages
4,856
Reaction score
9
City, State
Clarksville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 XLT 4x4
Originally posted by 32to1
99% of modern vehicle's odometer's now days run of the spedometer, all you have to do to run up miles is disable the spedometer sensor located in most vehicle's tailshafts, rear ends or ABS systems.;)
Um. . .didn't the the odometer almost always run off the same sensor/gear as the speedometer? :rolleyes:
 






FourXFred

Explorer Addict
Joined
September 1, 2002
Messages
1,288
Reaction score
0
City, State
Boston, MA
Year, Model & Trim Level
02 EB
hehe, its fuse 22. i know that off hand, for reasons i probally shouldent elaborate on.
 






snowburns

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 7, 2002
Messages
511
Reaction score
0
City, State
Anchorage, Alaska
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT
Well that sucks, a couple weeks ago I got pissed at my ABS and was wondering if removing that fuse would just disable them...good thing I didn't do it.
 






Lefy

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 13, 2002
Messages
736
Reaction score
0
City, State
Westchester, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 Sport 4x4 4.0 SOHC
mmm you mean I could keep my truck reading 139000 miles for awhile ha.

wait probobly woulden't do me any good I woulden't know when to oil change. rotate tires or anything.
and probobly woulden't get me any more money when I sell it which probobly won't happen for a long while.


but I do know now that I'm driveing a a decent amount more then my odometer is reading with my 33s.
didn't change the speed gear. don't know where it is
 






section525

sextion525
Elite Explorer
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 11, 2001
Messages
14,763
Reaction score
26
City, State
Red Bluff, Ca
Year, Model & Trim Level
1975 Ford Bronco 4x4
You'll be hatin it if your tranny is electronically controlled. It uses the speed reading to determine up and downshifts. If you disable your VSS, hopefully your tranny will go out before you get a few more dollars in resale.
 






section525

sextion525
Elite Explorer
Moderator Emeritus
Joined
February 11, 2001
Messages
14,763
Reaction score
26
City, State
Red Bluff, Ca
Year, Model & Trim Level
1975 Ford Bronco 4x4
Originally posted by snowburns
Well that sucks, a couple weeks ago I got pissed at my ABS and was wondering if removing that fuse would just disable them...good thing I didn't do it.

Your '96 VSS is on a different system than the ABS. It was in 1998 when they combined the two into one sensor.
 






sean4385

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2003
Messages
201
Reaction score
0
City, State
Hopewell NJ
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 Sport
Or you can take the dash cover off and move the odometer back a few thou by hand....

Or you can drive around in reverse;)
 












Lefy

Well-Known Member
Joined
December 13, 2002
Messages
736
Reaction score
0
City, State
Westchester, NY
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 Sport 4x4 4.0 SOHC
Or you can take the dash cover off and move the odometer back a few thou by hand....

doesn't that screw up the odometer and it doesn't line up right any more??

or is that some myth??

just so you guys know i'm not gonna be selling the ex for some time. I think it's always gonna be my trail rig.
may be trailered though at some point.
 






Ak LTD Xplorer

Explorer Addict
Joined
December 17, 2003
Messages
1,433
Reaction score
0
City, State
Anchorage Alaska
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 LIMITED OFF ROAD 4X4
on my 96 i pulled the fuse and it just stoped the ABS..the odomiter still worked..but mine's a 96
 






Jefe

Explorer Addict
Joined
January 7, 2001
Messages
4,856
Reaction score
9
City, State
Clarksville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 XLT 4x4
Originally posted by Lefy
but I do know now that I'm driveing a a decent amount more then my odometer is reading with my 33s.
didn't change the speed gear. don't know where it is
Well, it'd be hard to change . . .cause you don't have one ;)
You either need to have ford reprogram your computer, or get a Superlift TruSpeed.
 






Jefe

Explorer Addict
Joined
January 7, 2001
Messages
4,856
Reaction score
9
City, State
Clarksville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 XLT 4x4
Originally posted by section525
You'll be hatin it if your tranny is electronically controlled. It uses the speed reading to determine up and downshifts. If you disable your VSS, hopefully your tranny will go out before you get a few more dollars in resale.
My tranny actually shifts better w/o a speedo :rolleyes: :confused:
 






Jefe

Explorer Addict
Joined
January 7, 2001
Messages
4,856
Reaction score
9
City, State
Clarksville, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'00 XLT 4x4
Originally posted by sean4385
Or you can take the dash cover off and move the odometer back a few thou by hand....
While that may work, I believe the PCM also keeps track of mileage (?) . . .so if ford ever scanned the computer and saw that the odometer didn't match. . .
 



Join the Elite Explorers $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!
.



Billy177

Explorer Addict
Joined
July 10, 2003
Messages
1,898
Reaction score
0
City, State
Redding CT
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 Explorer XLT SOHC 4x4
i don't think that can be true because you can awalys reset your compter i found when i pulled out my insturment cluster fuse my speedo and odomiter stopped working
 






Top