Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. D

4x4 trouble shooting questions

Now this is getting ridiculous. Last night I was playing with the 4x4 again and it worked! It worked in 4x4 high and when I delivered 12V directly to the T-case. The problem is obviously in the T-case because bypassing the GEM didn't make a difference. What could be causing an intermittent...
  2. D

Thanks for the explanation. I am a mechanical engineer so I understand how a PWM signal works and how the VOM is averaging the input. I guess I should have stated my question a little better but you did answer it anyways. I thought that the brown wire was supposed to see 12V 100% duty cycle...
  3. D

Another update: The 4x4 no longer works at all. No flashing lights. I measured 6.5V on the brown wire at the T-case with the truck running in Park and the selector switch set to 4x4 high. I then applied 12V directly to the brown wire and still no 4x4. Am I correct in assuming that something...
  4. D

I doubt its a bad electromagnet or clutch because I can really feel the drive train "bind up" when the 4x4 does work. This tells me that it is transferring a good deal of torque and the mechanicals should be fine. I measured 4.5V on the brown wire at the transfer case under the following...
  5. D

Oh yeah, I forgot, I don't have an NGS sensor available. I think I saw them in the $900 range and above. I guess I am better off bringing to the dealer if I need to hook it up to an NGS scanner.
  6. D

A little clarification: - The 4x4 system works properly when I first start the vehicle. I can feel the difference in turning. I have also put the truck on jack stands and checked that the front drive shaft turns when its supposed to. - After I drive the truck for a few miles the 4x4 no...
  7. D