Search results | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Search results

1. B

Should I take this 2004 XLT?

I purchased a 2010 VW Jetta (leather fully loaded 2.5) to try to make my 2004 explorer "last longer" because it was at the 130k age where the starter, alternator, etc left me stranded in the wilderness..not good... I owned the two for about 3 years until I got completely frustrated trying to...
  2. B

Ten year ode to explorer

Haha thanks! It's only been two days but so far so good! The truck sat 5 months at the dealer so getting it broken back in a bit and putting some miles on her. I test drove Chevy, ford, and the ram and spent 3 or so months searching and deciding and seriously for the price, the power you get...
  3. B

Ten year ode to explorer

Ive been driving explorers for 10 years. 98 5.0 and 04 4.0. After a couple years of no car payments and bigger need for a pickup truck than SUV I decided to purchase the explorers replacement. Traded in my commuter car for the commute I no longer have due to moving closer to work, and purchased...
  4. B

Holy axle seals

I couldn't go ford again, I've been a back to back explorer owner and ford has just let me down way too much. I know all makes have their problems, but i just encountered may too many with ford. Dodge, eh I've never really been a fan for some reason. My grandfather always had a chevy, my minds...
  5. B

Holy axle seals

brought it back to the dealer, they removed the axle and said that there are burrs on the end of the axle, it is worn out and causing the seal to fail. They're exact words when I asked them to check the axle a few months ago, "we checked the axle for burrs and it looks to be in good shape!"...
  6. B

4 low won't engage

On my 04 Low gave out a couple years ago..Whenever I put it in low a fuse under the hood blows. Hi and auto 4x4 works perfect. I just don't use low, don't really have a need for it
  7. B

Holy axle seals