Coilover Conversion | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Coilover Conversion

tasmanian10

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 Sport Trac
So I am a noob to suspension but I think I would like to put coilovers all the way around on my 03 ST 2WD. I have read that mounts will need to be made to for the coilovers in the front. But most of it was for ST with lifts. How would you go about doing the stock ride height in the front with coilovers. Then for the back I want to lower it to be level with the front, but I haven't had any luck finding anything on converting the leaf springs to coilovers.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

What makes you want to do this conversion? What's your budget and time you can be without a car?

I thought about doing coil overs on the fronts thinking that I can improve my ride over the bumpy, pothole ridden landscape of Northeastern PA. I have new shocks throughout, however I still don't like how it handles over the deep holes that jar your jaw. Would coil overs help? I assumed they would, but I do not have evidence to suggest it.

So I searched and searched, and I found a cheap way to do a coil conversion. *** I do not know if the suspension will handle any better with these shocks or any worse. The Extended Length and Compressed Length are close to stock, and the travel length is a little bit longer.***

A Monroe Premium Shock on my 01 Sport Trac would be a Monroe 34804, with an extended length of 18.1", Compressed length of 13.6", and a travel length of 4.52".

With a little research I found that a 1979 Ford F100 front end can use Monroe Load Adjusting Shock 58253 ( http://www.monroe.com/en-US/e-catalog/58253 ), with an extended length of 16.1", Compressed length of 10.6", and a travel length of 5.63".