thegaffney

Reaction score
City, State
Kingman, AZ
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer XLT
New guy - Fiberglass Stereo Project

Hello there,

This is my first time posting on here, I just recently got given a blue 2000 Explorer XLT 5.0 in exchange for writing a software program for a company, whooo, anyways, while im waiting to save some money for some lift spindles i got bored and designed this fiberglass speaker box for the back, the dimensions are exact to the inch, and the pictures below i designed in a 3D modeling program last night at work.

This will be the third fiberglass box ive built when I do it, below also is the pics of my first one in a corolla i had

:)

Here is a render of the final look, im modeling the parts right now (such as just the box and the ports etc, to you'll have a better idea on whats underneath.

final1.jpg

this is an OLD pic, of coarse it wasnt done

4304090157_medium.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Looks great. I have only have built 1 glass box. It looked good, but not that good. Want to see the finished real product.

ha, thanks

yeah usually i just make them as im going, with out planing it out like this, but i was trying to think of angles and shapes that would work in the back and i remembered i had this program so i played around with it for a bit till i got this,

its really helpfull because it pretty accuratly matches how the fabric will stretch, i think im going to actuall start the box part of it when i get off work in the morning so ill post some picture of that progress

what program did you use for the renders?

Looks like a very nice start. The renderings look like it will be a sealed box but after seeing the first part of the mdf box, it appears you decided on a ported box. Have you decided on what sub-woofers you are going to put in there?