Replacing Timing Chain

Danson

Reaction score
City, State
London, Ontario
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Limited
Hey Everyone,
i have the timing chain rattle so i am going to begin taking it apart tomorrow, i have never done a timing chain before but i am going to attempt it, i have the haynes repair manual, are there any major things i need to make sure i do?? and help/suggestions appreciated..i know i probably should not be attempting this but i dont have the money to pay for labour and i feel confident enough to do this...Thanks Everyone

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have never done one before but if you take your time and don't break any bolts you should be firne. There is a lot of right ups on here about doing them so do a little research and you will find all the info you need. I am going to be doing mine soon along with replacing my heads so good luck.

street rod hose are awesome i just have one question, if i just have to replace the tensioner or the guide on the jackshaft to crankshaft chain o i need to put it to TDC or do anything like that or would it just be take it apart replace the part and put it back together. (not removing the chain) sorry if i sound dumb, just want to make sure i dont screw anything up
Thanks so much

replacing primary tensioner & guide

The primary (crankshaft to jackshaft) tensioner and guide are easily replaced without removing the primary chain, or loosening the jackshaft sprocket. As long as the jackshaft sprocket retaining bolt is not loosened there is no need to retime the camshafts as explained in the SOHC V6 Timing thread. Therefore, it is not necessary to position the crankshaft at TDC.