2000 Explorer buying advice please! :) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

2000 Explorer buying advice please! :)

snake_94

Reaction score
City, State
Sugar Land, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 Explorer
Hello guys I'm new to the forum, my daily driver is a 2006 Ford Ranger sport rwd with the 3.0 Vulcan 175K Miles. My dad bought this really clean 2000 eddie bauer Explorer with the 5.0 V8 and 4 speed tranny with 220k miles, he's offering it to me for 700 bucks! I've done research in its drivetrain and concluded that the 5L V8 paired with the 4 Spd is pretty good, I've just never bought such a high milage vehicle! any input and advice will be appreciated! she idles good and the 5L sounds amazing, few things here and there that need fixing but nothing major it seems other than fluid changes and tune. I'm a student and i also work so my budget is pretty tight. i plan to use the vehicle for a weekend camping rig if i do get her! again, input and advice appreciated. thanks guys

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Buy it. It's probably got at least another 80-100K left in it and the 5.0L drive train is as good as it gets. $700 is a steal. We have 4 5.0L's in the family and all have over 200K on them now.

thanks for the reply koda! interestingly the truck i am purchasing is the same color scheme as yours! (by the way im glad you're ok after the axle incident)

thanks for the reply koda! interestingly the truck i am purchasing is the same color scheme as yours! (by the way im glad you're ok after the axle incident)

Thanks. Me too.