• Register Today It's free!

4R/5R No Forward

Gotasee

City, State
Mesquite, Texas
Year, Model & Trim Level
95 Ranger
Newbie here, appreciate the info I have read so far. Here is my story, hope some one can help

95 Ranger, 3.0, 5r55e. Used truck, tranny slipped (seems now like 2-3 flare), tranny shop found bad switch and replaced, helped for a while. Gradually got worse. 70 MOH on freeway lost forward. Towed home. Researched here, looks like VB. Replaced with rebuilt VB from local shop. Old VB had 2 bad gasket locations. Do not have inch/lb torque wrench, non local available, tightened in sequence 4 rounds to shorty ratchet tight, one handed. Filled with fluid, 7 quarts, reverse OK, 1st or 2nd at very high RPM, but feels like it is slipping (feels like bad burnt clutch in a standard), will never grap completely. Raise rear tires off ground, Will go in all gears, and shift, but take hugh RPM to start things rolling. Adjusted bands per thread recomendation, same problem.

Hope this is enough info for some one to help me out. Thanks in advance, Frustrated.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to this forum! It should be a 4R44E in that year/engine size. Harbor Freight has an inexpensive 1/4" drive In/Lb torque wrench with a hard carry case. Is the switch you are referring to the transmission range sensor?

BB, Not sure, but that sounds familiar.

Was the EPC solenoid replaced? First try to tighten the bolts with the torque wrench to their proper specifications. You mentioned that the valve body was replaced. Do you know if they installed any kind of shift kit?

I replaced the VB with all the soledoids installed, no shift kit was installed. Really think it is the VB bolts torque? Is the EPC seperate from the VB?