4R70W, 1st to 2nd==WHIPLASH

L2rocku2

Reaction score
City, State
Chandler, Arizona 85224
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 E/B AWD 5.0
Hello all. I have a 2000 explorer, e/b, awd, 5.0, 47k mi, auto, 4r70w
Problem: Shifting from 1st to 2nd is very harsh. The truck lunges forward like someone ran into the back of you. The harder the acceleration, the more severe the shift. It still seems to shift at the right time, meaning, it doesn't hold out for a certain rpm before it shifts. I can take off from a stop, get up to 10-15 mph, and let off the gas and it will still shift into 2nd ( with a small lunge ). This has been going on now for several months. It's my wifes truck, gets driven often but very short trips. No mil light or flashing o/d light. I had the fluid changed, but it made no difference. I do all my own repair work, less machine shop work. I'm no ase machanic, but have been working on cars for 30yrs +-. I've never worked on an automatic transmission before. I've read several of the posts on here, and see that several of you have an enormous amount of knowledge of tranny's. What's causing this?? How to fix it?? Any help is greatly appreciated!!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Sounds like something in the valve body is clogged or broken. Hopefully someone else will chime in.

Sounds like something in the valve body is clogged or broken. Hopefully someone else will chime in.

Thanks for saying that--
from what I have learned from our great guru and mentor glacier991
I'd guess the 1-2 accumulator spring--but the solenoid is obviously ok:D