97 XLT, how to identify audio system? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

97 XLT, how to identify audio system?

DavidDulin

Reaction score
City, State
Stratford, CT
Year, Model & Trim Level
'97 XLT V8 AWD
Hey folks

it is almost embarassing to ask these questions, since I worked in the car audio business from 1995 - 2000, and have certainly sold gear for Explorers during that time.

I just picked up a '97 XLT 4 door, and it has a "cassette deck". I guess that 14 years ago people actually bought things called "tapes". The unit has "AUTO LEARN" button, and CD changer controls. I believe there is a factory amp somewhere.

I have a few options to consider:
(1) replace head unit with CD player, may require line output converter and/or additional wiring to be run

(2) add an "aux input" adaptor such as the one made by PIE, which will allow me to connect an MP3 player. This is less invasive, and easier to undo, since I am not keeping the vehicle very long.

Anyone know how to tell if this is the "JBL" system, or the "non-JBL" system? Where is the factory amplifier hidden? Also I hear about a factory 8" subwoofer that I do not see mentioned in the manual.

I am leaning towards #2, though Crutchfield throwing in the install gear for free makes that a good option also.

Thanks

Dave

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

The factory amp is located behind the side panel on the passenger side in the hatch area. The sub would be located in the same panel, if you don't have the sub you will have a cubby hole. If you have the cd changer in the center console, and no sub you have the non-jbl "premium" system.

Check out this thread, and other threads in the audio forum for some ideas:
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25999