• Register Today It's free!

Broken plastic?

JKELLYN13

Reaction score
City, State
Dallas, GA
Year, Model & Trim Level
02 Sport Trac XLT
I removed my oil pan today to see if any plastic was there due to hearing a rattle from the TIming chain around 2300-2800 RPM. These are the pics of the plastic. Anybody have an idea what it broke from and if it needs to be replaced emediately or can go as it is?
20150721_165802_zpskz9a9rbq.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

rear guide piece

I agree with Tech By Trade. It's the piece at the top of the rear guide identified below.
RearCstPiece.jpg

There may be more pieces that didn't make it to the pan. My rear guide is shown below.
RCasset.jpg

I finally found all of the larger pieces. Some were trapped in the head and the last one was behind the jackshaft rear sprocket. The following thread may be your next step: SOHC V6 Timing Chain Inspection & Repair

Yea that is exactly where I had thought that it may have came from. THis truck is currently my only form of transportation so I was wondering, providing there are no other larger pieces that broke and have not made it to the lower pan, do you think that just that one pieve being broke will be an issue or can I ride with it as is untill I start hearing noised thats more pronounced? I also changed the oil yesterday and the entire drive home I never once heard any rattle from the timing chain. So the noise is worse when the oil needs to be changed so I'm thinking that frequent oil changes combined with new tensioners cause mine are still the factory ones with 205k miles on them may eliminate the issue for atleast the emediate future. Would you agree or am I just asking for more trouble?