Cranks but not start issue and anti theft light flashing | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Cranks but not start issue and anti theft light flashing

Juustino102

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 ford explorer
So I have a 98 ford explorer and the other day I was driving it and all of a sudden it died. And when I try and start it it cranks but no start. I also tried rolls starting it. So I thought either I'm not getting any spark. Or fuel but I wasn't sure. So I got it towed home and when I was working on it I noticed that when I turn the key on the anti theft light keeps flashing. I can't figure a way to make it go off. Also when. I hook up my obd2 to the car. It won't respond to it.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I'm no expert ( I know a great way to start off eh) but it sounds like the PATS/security stuff is preventing you from getting spark, it could mean something else is fried though ie: computer.

If yours has PATS and you're using the same key and everything like you've always done, this doesn't sound good.

It is the pats system I believe. But I think it's the pcm. Like the ground strap. Or a fuse but I can't look Cuz its dark. Cuz I read that if the pcm goes out or dosnt have power the anti theft will activate. But I think it's odd it won't connect to obd2

Check your fuses. I had similar symptoms with my '01 Sport Trac a year ago. I had pulled the fuses out one by one to check them trying to figure out another problem, and left one out. A blown fuse would act the same as no fuse. I don't think mine would even crank though, but the theft light continued flashing when I turned the key and OBD2 wouldn't respond.