DIY oil change part prices | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

DIY oil change part prices

BlueSilver

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Ford Explorer XLT
So I've been doing my own oil changes for many years now and always look for the best deal on oil, not so much filters. Big fan of Napa Gold filters too. This 3.5 takes 6 qts. and I buy the 5 qt jugs over the single quarts due to the huge price disparity over a total of 5 qts both ways.

Am I screwed having to buy a jug and a single quart to change my oil now? That's around 31.00 for the oil and another 7-8.00 for the filter. We are talking shop cost prices at this point. Been down the road of having a drain plug over tightened and a filter needing a flathead punched through it to break it loose. Don't they know not to do that? The 3/4 to 1 full turn after the gasket hits doesn't exist anymore. That's why I DIMyself.

Being my first Ford is it more marketing hype going with Motorcraft oil and filter vs Napa, Castrol or Mobil 1..... Which is what I primarily use. When I bought the truck and got the certification paperwork they put 5W30 in vs 20W. Any big deal there and is 20W too thin anyway? Thanks for input!

BTW I usually do 4K oil changes even with synthetic. But I was surprised to find the oil still pretty clean on the Ford so I'm going to 5K. My Saab which takes 0w40, different story. Pretty dark brown at 4K but then it's turbocharged as well.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Good vehicle choices! We both have an XLT and 9-5 Aero :D