• Register Today It's free!

Fluids Change Frequency

JPGator

Reaction score
City, State
Jacksonville, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2008 Explorer XLT V6 4.0
I have a 2008 Exlporer XLT V6 coming up on 44K miles. I'm thinking of having my transmission fluid flushed and/or changed at 50K for no other purpose than preventitive maintenance. I'm primarily a city/highway driver, no towing or off roading. Does anyone have their own experiences? Can I get away with it for a little longer? Should I also be considering coolant or rear diff fluid changes? Thanks for the advice!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Let's see Trans fluid on my "06 L 6cyl I try to do every 30,000, I just change at 43,000 a few days ago. Now I drain and fill, drive, drain and fill and drive. So my method is really not a complete flush but 90%. The fluid that was in there from 30,000 to 73,000 was blood red and still had that fresh sulfurous smell that trans fluid has when its fresh. The fluid was not burned. I just used Penns Oil yellow bottle. Last time I used valvoline semi syn high mileage but, I couldn't find it this time.

I wouldn't wait on the trans fluid if you are already at 44K trans flush at the dealer $150. New trans at the dealer $3000 to $4000

Every other year on the anti-freeze flush. I always have a shop do this as I am a mess with anti freeze.