Fuel additives and 5th gen Explorers | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Fuel additives and 5th gen Explorers

bruinsfan

Reaction score
City, State
Northern New England
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Explorer XLT V6
In my 2007 Explorer, I used Amsoil PI every oil change (8000 mile intervals with Motorcraft full syn oil) and never had any issues with my engine and fuel injectors or fuel delivery system. The SUV runs great; 150,000+ miles.

I'm not a mechanic and am just curious if the 5th generation Explorers would benefit from this preventative type of maintenance? Is there anything about these Explorers (I know there is no changeable fuel filter) that would prevent one from using this type of additive? Would it harm the SUV?

I know the "manual" says don't use additives.... I am just curious if anyone uses them and if they help/hurt their 5th generation Explorer.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I personally think it is a waste of money. The only time I really believe in additives is with diesel motors. Just my opinion but have never had injector or motor issues in all the years I have driven gasoline cars.

It's all snake oil.

I'm not a mechanic and am just curious if the 5th generation Explorers would benefit from this preventative type of maintenance?
Modern fuel, modern engine, modern oil makes additives for gasoline engines worthless. Every time you're tempted to buy some, or the dealer wants to peddle a "cleaning" on you, put that money in a jar and use it for something fun later.

Diesel fuel additives for gelling and lubricity....different story.