• Register Today It's free!

help with sub setup

pinto21632

Reaction score
City, State
redbud,illinois
Year, Model & Trim Level
98 explorer
i just bought a dual voice coil Audiobahn 10" sub and a 4 ch sony explode amp 600 watt amp bridged 2 channels but i get very little bass out of the sub im thinking the amp is not big enough i checked the watts per channel 55x4 i bridged 2 channels that only comes out to 110 watts the amp is 600 watt 4 channels and the sub is a Audiobahn dual voice coil on the back of the sub says 350 watt im thinking i need like a 2 channel but how big i found this
PB446 Pyramid Reno Series - 600 Watt 2 Channel Car Audio Amplifier online for $44.93 im new to this help me please

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Also, you're not gonna get a whole lot of bass out of that sub.
1. It's 10"
2. It's 350w - Is that RMS?
3. Audiobahn is good, but IMO Kicker is louder, and I HATE Kicker. lol.

i turn it all the way up and after a few mins the amp is some what warm

whatever you do don't get a pyramid anything. have you looked up mtx amps yet on internet there pretty cheap and they pound. i got 2 kicker 15s in my xplorer with a 500 watt mtx amp that i paid $30 for on ebay and it makes them suck the roof in and out. mtx is the best bang for the buck.

and if the sub is rated at 350 watts and im only putting 110 watts i think thats way to low and i bridged the sub to 2 ohms

If it's dual voice coil there should be two sets of terminals on it. Have you tried running positive into one side and negative out of the other side and connecting the remaining posts with a piece of wire?

What head unit do you have? what are your bass settings on it?
What gauge wire did you use?