Just replaced the front wheel bearings/hubs on my '06 | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Just replaced the front wheel bearings/hubs on my '06

edwx

Reaction score
City, State
Jacksonville, FL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2020 Ford Explorer XLT
My 2006 XLS has 97K miles on it and was making enough noise that I figured a front wheel bearing/hub swap was necessary. If I can do it on my cold, wet, garage floor in the corrosion, rust capital of the world, here in Syracuse NY in late December, anybody can do it. In my case proper planning is the key because I'm not a mechanic and I need to be completely comfortable before I start. I'm not one of those guys that can just dive in and get it done. Can't really add too much to the procedure that is so well documented a bazillion times already in this forum, and in the Gen III forum in the STICKY. My main thing was saving $. Since a wheel hub installation is not very labor intensive for the dealer and they would probably only charge an hour per side (plus whatever else they could find wrong with your truck,) the place where I thought I could save the most money was in the parts. I decided that Chinese (or poor quality) bearings was not the way to go. So I started looking at SKF, Motorcraft, Timkin, and National. I also wanted to buy hubs that came with the 5 bolt kit and ABS sensor. In my part research, I began noticing that 2 different part #'s for my 2006 were coming up for the SKF hubs...BR930456, and BR930741. The same thing with the Motorcraft hubs......HUB67 and HUB29. (This might get confusing, but I stuck with it and saved at least $300 in parts alone.) I couldn't tell what the difference in the parts were, except that the latter part numbers were alot more expensive. To this day I still don't know what the difference is, but if the less expensive part would fit my truck I wanted to use it. I had read that the SKF hubs were made in Canada and used Timkin bearings, and had the abs