Lifting my explorer

2stroke

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Annandale, MN
Year, Model & Trim Level
1993 Ford Explorer Sport
This is my first post, but this site has been very helpful so far. I have a mostly stock 1994 ford explorer 4x4 that I am basically stuck with right now. I'm just saying right now I dont think ford or chevy is better than one another, however I do want a chevy 1500 pickup, for the simple reason I like how they look and how they are set up. I have been towing with my explorer for a few years now, my dad is the original owner, and the thing is a tank. I think the towing limit for the auto tranny is somewhere around 5000 pounds, but I have gone way over that a few times, and it did fine. I'm on the original tranny at 215,000 miles, and I do not baby it. Infact most of it is original, motor, rims, even the alternator. The thing I had to learn with this truck, is that you have to live with it until its actually broke. Some vehicles even a squeak can quickly turn into being stuck on the road. An explorer will work, and even when something breaks, it will get you home. It never works perfect, but it ALWAYS works. The only problem with it has been it is on its 4th set of wheel bearings (however I drive in water a lot because of shallow boat launches), but I could never understand why the fronts go bad. I've never had one fly apart, but they growl until you cant hear anything. I must buy china crap bearings.:usa: The only mods I have done are 1 the rear window wiper is gone. It serves no purpose, and holds the window shut when your trying to open it. I simply poped it off the gear thing, and painted it black. The next is I cut metal pieces to fit the backs of the back seats and used 3/4" screws to attach them. After taking out the carpet, I bedlined the whole thing. I now have a regular cab, short box explorer. The last thing I did was tear the running boards off because they rusted too bad to hold anyone. I then used 12" wide aluminum roll