LPG problems.

waroberts64

Reaction score
City, State
Liverpool, England
Year, Model & Trim Level
2000 XLT
Hi,
I'm new to Ford Explorers and forums but I hope the forum works better than my Explorer. I recently fitted a single entry LPG system with oneway valves on the plastic manifold, and I'm now suffering the consequences. Backfires causing bonnet insulation to catch fire, and general bad running at low revs. Anyone know of a solution which does not involve fitting a least multipoint LPG system. I wondered if its posible to fit a metal intake manifold.

Chears,
Will.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

waroberts64 said:
Hi,
I'm new to Ford Explorers and forums but I hope the forum works better than my Explorer. I recently fitted a single entry LPG system with oneway valves on the plastic manifold, and I'm now suffering the consequences. Backfires causing bonnet insulation to catch fire, and general bad running at low revs. Anyone know of a solution which does not involve fitting a least multipoint LPG system. I wondered if its posible to fit a metal intake manifold.

Chears,
Will.

Simple gas system doesn't work in explorers, because it has a long air tube
from the filter to the engine. It works only with injectors and computer
wich working together the car's computer!
I installed my system one year ago without any problem!
Denis from Hungary

Hmm.... would you two perhaps elaborate on the fuel systems you are using? I am sure the vast majority of people on this forum are in the USA and LPG systems are uncommon to say the least, its always interesting to hear of alternative fuel sources.

Josh