• Register Today It's free!

No crank or start - 98 Explorer

stevenphenna

Reaction score
City, State
Edgewater, CO
Year, Model & Trim Level
1998 Ford Explorer
I have a 98 Explorer that now won't crank or start. The battery is new, so I know that's not the issue. I've cleaned corrosion of the battery cables, but am thinking I may need to replace those. No issues with fuses.

When I take the battery cables off and then put them back on, I'm able to get the headlights/dash lights on sometimes, but other times they go off. Even when headlights are on, if I go to start it, it doesn't crank or turn on, and it kills the headlights/dash lights. When this first happened, I was able to start the car with a jump battery.

Any ideas? I'm a bit of a noob so any advice is appreciated. My plan is to try new cables, then if that doesn't work, perhaps take the starter off and get that tested.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

I have a 98 Explorer that now won't crank or start. The battery is new, so I know that's not the issue. I've cleaned corrosion of the battery cables, but am thinking I may need to replace those. No issues with fuses.

When I take the battery cables off and then put them back on, I'm able to get the headlights/dash lights on sometimes, but other times they go off. Even when headlights are on, if I go to start it, it doesn't crank or turn on, and it kills the headlights/dash lights. When this first happened, I was able to start the car with a jump battery.

Any ideas? I'm a bit of a noob so any advice is appreciated. My plan is to try new cables, then if that doesn't work, perhaps take the starter off and get that tested.
Sound like you have a bad ground connection too the body by the battery.
Do you have a test light or volt meter?