Performance mods | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Performance mods

JBRALEY

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 Ford Explorer EB
hey, I am new to the Explorer world! I recently bought a 94 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer 4X4. It has the V6 4.0L engine. I am just wondering if there are any relatively easy, and relatively cheap mods I can do to increase the performance of my Explorer. any help/suggestions would be great! Thanks!

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

simple stuff like an exhaust system or intake help and are cheap and easy

What do you consider performance? There's not much available. And the stuff that is will not be much in performance. Wrong vehicle for that.

/\/\ true the 4.0 is limited ive never seen any "fast" gen 1 explorer

Assuming everything existing is ok (Cat's are ok, good fuel pressure, etc...), then the one easiest thing to at least check is to see if the throttle plate is actually opening fully with full gas pedal. There is history of the throttle cable stretching.

You can obviously re-gear the difs to trade acceleration for torque.

You can install larger MAF and throttle bodies. You will get some incremental improvement, but maybe not worth the money in parts.

Cat-back exhaust will get you something.

Electric fan may get you a few horsepower.

The problem is that pretty much all of this stuff is $100+ and you may not see more than a few horses for each one. Forget about performance chips, many have tried, none have suceeded. The ODB-IV engine system does not offer tuning options.