• Register Today It's free!

Poor fuel economy - 96 Limited

pfloydman

Reaction score
City, State
Chicago, IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
1996 Limited
I am new to this and don't know a whole lot about cars in general. Before I go get ripped off at the dealer, does anyone have any idea why I might be getting such poor fuel economy out of my 96 Limited? According to the on-board display, I'm getting 11.0 mpg. That is awful! It has about 108k miles. I have had it serviced recently, so there really is no good explanation. Maybe the tires are old...would that cause mpg to be THAT bad though?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

what engine does your X have...that would make a world of a difference. What psi are your tires at?

EDIT: Please DO NOT double post.

Welcome to the forum. You are going to get someone telling you not to double post. Ask your question in one section only please and give people a chance to respond. Also try the search function this is a topic that has been covered alot. Poor fuel economy can be caused by several things. Dirty MAF or O2 sensors. Poor alignment on your tires could cause a decrease in fuel economy as well. Check the basics like plugs wires fuel filters maybe a bottle of fuel injector cleaner.

Try doing your MPG calculations the old fashion way (from an old post of mine):

FYI, try calculating your MPG the "old fashion way."