Slight play in passenger side radius/control arm? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Slight play in passenger side radius/control arm?

ashner19

Reaction score
City, State
BELMONT
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Explorer Sport Stock
2001 Ex sport 185k miles

First off I am no mechanic so I may not know the exact name for this part but I think its the raduis arm or control arm. While searching for the old motel mattress squeak gremlin on the front passenger side I noticed that the control arm has a little play in it in the lower part left of the shock in the pic. when i pull on the arm its able to move a few centimeters. The drivers side does not do this. The bushings seem ok and maybe i just need to tighten the bolt. I dont have the tools to get in there atm. Its a large bolt in a tight spot.

How dangerous is this while driving? The wheel has a little play in it as well when lifted on jack stands. Thanks in advance for any comments suggestions.

Still looking for the source of the squeak. Could this be a factor? Pretty sure its not coming from the brakes or shock at this point.

IMG_6305.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

That's your upper control arm, all bolts should be tight and there really shouldn't be any movement with one wheel is lifted off the ground. If you have a little play it might be because of the loose bolt or worn bushings, ball joints, tie rods, etc..
Note: If you have both front wheels off the ground you might have a little movement.

And Yes it could be Very Dangerous have someone who knows what there doing check it out ASPS

It's a good idea to check all the bolts and fasteners every once in a while. I had a loose control arm bolt years ago. Now I make it a habit to check them regularly