Stall on stopping

Pkray

Reaction score
City, State
Southern IL
Year, Model & Trim Level
2001 Sport 4.0
Hello everyone,

I have a 2001 explorer sport, 4.0 switchable 4wd, 212k miles. Let me begin by saying I am not a mechanic... Never worked on cars or even changed oil. I'm posting here because a lot of mechanic friends are unsure of what's going on.

The vehicle starts and runs ok for its age. After it has been run for a while, when I brake to a stop, there is a quick shudder, and it dies. This usually happens when I exit the interstate, stopping at the end of the exit ramp. It starts after that, and runs fine. This began a couple months ago, and it seems like it has gotten a bit worse, but is still sporadic. Sometimes when turning off a 45mph street it will shudder when I'm braking, but I can accelerate through it if I don't come to a complete stop. There is a noticeable loss of power when I do.

Codes read lean air and multiple misfire, but they have since I bought the vehicle(2005 with 60k miles). Cleaned the MAF about 8 months ago, cleaned the IAC(the one that does not disassemble I think), sprayed everything down with carb cleaner while running to check for vacuum leaks. Had a vacuum hose replaced 6 months or so ago. Haven't checked the PCV valve yet, that is next on the list I suppose.

The latest incident, stalled at a stop, threw it in park and started it without issue, when I shifted to drive it died. Repeated the process, died. Started just fine again, let it run for a moment, shifted to drive and it died. Repeated the process, revved it a bit in park, put in drive and it died(every time it was dying immediately after shifting to drive). Started it again, put it in reverse, it stays running, backed up about 15 feet testing the waters, put it in drive, and it drove normally. It was all side streets to my house at that point.