• Register Today It's free!

Where and what is a MAF Sensor

DJ94

Reaction score
City, State
Magalia, California
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 4 Door 4WD
Hello; and thanks for letting me post here.

I am a newbie to this forum. I have a stock 1994 Explorer with automatic transmission and 4WD.

I have a cheapie code reader which told me that my check engine light is coming on because of my MAF.

I would not know an MAF if it stood up and bit me. Where is it and how can I take it out and replace it? I hope that task can be performed with the engine in the frame !!!

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance;

Regards to All

DJ94 :exporange

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome to the forum & hope you find it useful. I have nothing but good to say about the folks around here. Very helpful & quick to respond.

MAF is the Mass AirFlow sensor. It is connected between the air intake & your air filther. You need a special torx (those star hex wrenches) wrench to get the 4 screws out. It's a size 20 I believe, but the wrench needs to have a hole in the middle. I hear you might find one at a computer store because it's the same type for a computer power supply. I got a whole set from Autozone for about $10.

Here's a thread to a past post that shows a good picture of the MAF
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=153872&highlight=mass

Also, try a search of the forum for mass

Good luck & welcome home :)
Walter

Here's a picture from that thread:
picture0063ng.jpg

Thanks for the help!