Where Is My MAF, IAC etc ? 2004 Explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Where Is My MAF, IAC etc ? 2004 Explorer

stressedout

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
2004 XLT
Hello all. I am new here and need some help since I am new to Explorers. I usually work on Mustangs and don't understand the parts on the Explorer.

I need to know where the MAF, IAC and Throttle Body are on my 2004.

Mine threw the Service Engine light. Went to Autozone and the codes on their reader came up as:

P2100-TAC Motor Circuit/Open

P2104-TAC System Forced Idle

P2110-TAC System Forced Limited RPM

P2112-TAC System Stuck Closed

I don't know what that means on this vehicle but Autozone guy said he bets it's a dirty or bad Throttle Position Sensor or something. Does he sound right ?

But anyway, I have attached some pictures of the engine so that someone can hopefully point to where the MAF, IAC, Throttle Body etc are. The guy told me he thinks they are all under that SOHC cover.

I would really appreciate the help as fast as possible.

Thanks...

***Click Thumbnails For Larger Picture***

th_95685_DSC00106_122_855lo.jpg
th_95691_DSC00107_122_981lo.jpg
th_95698_DSC00108_122_142lo.jpg
th_95701_DSC00109_122_130lo.jpg

th_95702_DSC00110_122_539lo.jpg

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Your throttle body is the piece where the rubber intake hose attatches to the engine. The 2004 doesn't have an IAC motor...The electronic throttle control positions the throttle blade accordingly, thus eliminating the need for a seperate IAC. It also doesn't have a seperate throttle position sensor...Again, the electronic throttle control acts as your TPS as well as the IAC.