Which one do I get?

GFox

Reaction score
City, State
Glastonbury, CT
Year, Model & Trim Level
2015 Ford Explorer LTD
Hello All,

This will be my first post on the forum, though it has been a wealth of knowledge during my car selection process. Here's the quick basics...

My wife and I had our first baby in July and her Dodge Caliber, which did it's job for a number of years, is no longer able to do the job we needed, and we're "grown ups" now so time to get our first nice, real car. I am an engineer which means that I have about four spreadsheets analyzing each model, price, specs, ect... After 9 test drives we settled on one of two vehicles - the Ford Explorer Limited 4WD and the GMC Acadia Denali AWD. We went back, did an extended test drive, and the Explorer beat out the Acadia hands down. There are just too many more features on the Explorer and it functions so much better. But of course you all know that so on to my question.

After months of research and deliberation we are ready to buy a fully loaded (with the exception of premium paint) Explorer Limited, but now I'm hearing that we are in crunch time to get a 2014 (some resources say the deadline has already passed, others that it will go until 04/16). I can't find ANY information on the 2015, except that builds will start on either 06/01 OR 07/01 (conflicting reports). Is there anything worth waiting for? Not that we aren't happy with the 2014 options, but at this point in the game does it pay to wait for another month? We live in CT so the absolutely crucial part is to get it before winter (assuming this one ever ends) but other than that we can be patient if necessary. Also, if anyone has info onto the features, is there expected to be a major price increase (> $750 for fully loaded)?

Thanks,
Steve