HYPERMILING: how i've been able to get 27 MPG with my ST | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

HYPERMILING: how i've been able to get 27 MPG with my ST

LONO100

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Bay Area CA
Year, Model & Trim Level
03 sport trac XLT
hey all, im a newbie to the forum, and so far just about everyone has been really cool and helpful in helping me get ideas for my 03 ST i got last month.

i live in CA where gas prices are crazy, so ive been getting into this hypermiling craze and it really works. i also commute in my ST during the week driving about 360+ miles per week. ive been able to squeeze so many extra miles out of my gas during my commutes by following a few easy tips. i have been able to squeeze about 550 miles out of one full tank of gas in my 03 ST XLT 4X2, and that was without letting it run bone dry. so if you want to save money on gas, or want to help the environment, or both, here are some tips that i picked up that work best for me. some of these you may have already heard, but if you do them all-together you can really save some dollars on gas, which means more money to put into your truck! i also left some links below to hypermiling.

1. DRIVE SLOWER ON THE FREEWAY - of course you want to open it up when you are cruising around on the weekends or when you are out wheeling, but when you are on your M-F commute, it really saves money to drive 60 mph or below. i read a figure that said for every 5 MPH you drive over 60 mph, you are decreasing your mileage efficiency by 1 MPG and for every 5 MPH you drive under 60, you increase by 1MPG. if you leave for work a few minutes early and drive 55, you will see the biggest difference in your gas mileage. driving like a grandma really works in saving you money. i try to keep my tach needle from jumping around, and i try not to let it get any higher than 2000 RPM's when im on the freeway. no jackrabbit starts off the stoplights, and no peeling out.