FordGT55's 5.0 Explorer | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

FordGT55's 5.0 Explorer

Hey all, been on the site awhile figured I'd start a registry. My name is Rob, live in Columbus Ohio and attend The Ohio State University. I work at a garage in Westerville Ohio when I'm not in school so I have some mechanic knowledge (still learning) and access to a garage whenever I need to work on my truck (it's a great perk!). I've had this Explorer for almost a year now, bought it in July of 2011. It is my second Explorer previously had a 2001 SOHC V6 that I sold to a friend (I told him not to buy it as the timing chain was rattling but he insisted). This one is a 2000 XLT AWD V8 when I bought it she had 135,996 miles and as of today has 150,850. When purchased it had mismatched wires, no tailpipe, mismatched tires (I was surprised the AWD still worked) needed brakes all around, bunch of small stuff.

Work I've done to it since I bought it:
Within first month:
Switched rims/tires and rear bumper with the previous Explorer before being sold
New plugs, wires, coolant, oil + filter, rear diff fluid, fuel filter.
From then on:
Upper Rad hose + thermostat
Flow master catback later made tail pipe a turn down.
MAC Performance CAI - Recently put an Amsoil filter on it
All new lower ball joints, upper control arms, and all tie rods
New rear leaf spring shackles
Rear coil over shocks
The biggest improvement has been new 17in mustang rims and tires
Lots more that I can't remember.

The previous Explorer before being sold:
IMG_0163_2.jpg

Next to the new one:
IMG_0357.jpg

How I bought her:
IMG_0353.jpg

IMG_0352.jpg

2 weeks later:
IMG_0428.jpg

Now:
IMG_1088.jpg

IMG_1035.jpg

Random pictures of work and what not:
IMG_1012.jpg

IMG_0541.jpg

IMG_0408.jpg

IMG_0948.jpg

Still need to and or want to do:
HID fog lights (have the kit just not the time)
Front shocks and rear axle 5th shock
TMHs
Custom dual exhaust
trans filter + synthetic fluid