94 mazda navajo automatic to a manual? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

94 mazda navajo automatic to a manual?

bmedicp

Reaction score
City, State
mississippi
Year, Model & Trim Level
1994 navajo, 92 exp sport
I have a 94 mazda navajo 4x4 and its automatic(a4ld). I have a 92 ford explorer 4x4 with a manual transmission. Explorer has a bad motor and the navajo has a bad transmission. Wanted to put the manual transmission in the navajo. Anyone have a clue how hard this would be? I know I could do it, but is there any problems that I could encounter? Reason Im asking is because I have an extra a4ld laying around, but I hate these transmissions and would rather have manual. Please someone, shed some light on me. Im a paramedic and I dont have alot of time to waste. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If you don't have a lot of time to waste, converting from an automatic to a manual may not be in your best interest.

Short version:
It's not difficult, but it can be very time consuming if you aren't familiar with the process.

Long version:
You'll need to swap a lot of parts over from the 92 which would include (but not limited to) the clutch pedal, the clutch master cylinder, hydraulic line, transmission itself, engine / transmission wiring harness, possibly the PCM, the shifter, shifter boot, and shifter retainer, flywheel, and you'd serve yourself well to pick up a new clutch kit as well since you'll have everything apart. Additionally, you'll have to cut a hole in the existing transmission tunnel

There will also be some splicing involved with the wiring since the OEM 5-speed have a couple sensors that the auto won't have, or you can just yank the entire dash and associated wiring out of the manual vehicle if you were so inclined.