• Register Today It's free!

Another XM radio question

Sherman67

Reaction score
City, State
Germantown, MD
Year, Model & Trim Level
2003 XLT
Ok, I'm new at all of this. I have a 2003 explorer with the factory radio and single CD Player. I just got the Roady XM radio system. I noticed that the sound using the cassette adaptor is not that great. Best Buy and the local Ford dealership tell me that if I add the FM modulator by Delphi, the sound would improve. From other websites that I've read say there is a 50/50 chance that the sound would improve. In that case, I want to try to install the FM Modulator myself. When I took out my radio, I did not see anywhere to connect the FM Modulator to a power source. Best Buy said that I should take the wire labeled power on the modulator and strip off the end of the male and female wire and then strip the yellow wire on the back of my radio. Wrap the wires together and then tape them with electric tape. I was told this would give me the power source. Then attach the ground wire to the radio.

Will this work? Also, will the FM Modulator improve my sound? Are there other suggestions to improve the sound?

Thanks in advance

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome!

I would not tap into the power wire from the radio. This may give the radio less power and will affect sound. I'd personally tap the rear defroster fuse or something like that: an ignition controlled fuse that's high capacity and not used very often.

Many people don't recommend tapping fuses for power. However, if you do it safely and correctly there is no problem. Basically remove the fuse you want to tap, stick the stripped end of the additional wire into one of the spade sockets, and replace the fuse. Make sure the power lead to the XM unit is inline fused itself and you should be good to go.