• Register Today It's free!

Brake Job - Front Rotors and Pads

RammaR

Reaction score
City, State
Franklin, TN
Year, Model & Trim Level
'96 XLT 4x4
My '96 4wd is in need of new front rotors and pads, it now has just over 105K miles on it. The last time I had the brakes done they said the current rotors had been turned down to the minimum thickness and would have to be replaced with the next set of pads. I think the left front rotor has actually warped a little because of a rub I'm getting so its definately time to replace them. To make a long story short, I've decided to do this replacement myself. I've done other work on it before, but this is my first attempt at the pads and rotors. (everyone's got to start sometime, right?) Anyway I just got a set of Powerslot rotors and pads and am planning on changing them out this weekend.

Besides the procedure in the Hayne's manual, does anyone have any other tips or advice that might make the job better? Like if you had to do it again, you would do what differently?

Oh, one last thing, the hayne's procedure mentions that I should syphon out 1/2 the brake fluid before starting. Any easy tips on this one?

Thanks in advance.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Originally posted by RammaR
. . .
Oh, one last thing, the hayne's procedure mentions that I should syphon out 1/2 the brake fluid before starting. Any easy tips on this one?

Thanks in advance.

Don't use your Wife's turkey baster, you will never hear the end of it. Get your own.

I did mine this past summer Front & Rear.
Most important make sure you replace the bearings while you're in there. What would I do differently? I'd make sure I had more Silver Soda's (Coors Lites) cooling in the fridge and I'd get a short squat stool to sit on!. It really was a breeze to change out.