Color Choices Disappearing

VinceL

Explorer Addict
Reaction score
City, State
Frisco, TX
Year, Model & Trim Level
2013 Explorer Limited
I was hanging out at Ford's site this morning doing a little build and price on the 'sometime in the future' explorer for the wife, and I noticed that the color choices are down to 6 colors. I jumped over to the Edge and it has only 4 color choices. The MKX is down to 7 color choices.

I was wondering, as the dealer stock is depleted, do they remove the colors from the website?

I have been keeping an eye out for the 2012's to hit the main website, and wonder if they time is coming for that to happen sooner rather than later.

Happy driving.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

When we ordered our 2011 at the end of May we wanted the Bordeaux Red but we were told that they were no longer using that color. The dealer still shows it a color on their website.

Changes for 2012?

I was hanging out at Ford's site this morning doing a little build and price on the 'sometime in the future' explorer for the wife, and I noticed that the color choices are down to 6 colors. I jumped over to the Edge and it has only 4 color choices. The MKX is down to 7 color choices.

I was wondering, as the dealer stock is depleted, do they remove the colors from the website?

I have been keeping an eye out for the 2012's to hit the main website, and wonder if they time is coming for that to happen sooner rather than later.

Happy driving.

I noticed the same thing yesteday. Red Candy, Kona Blue, and Bordeaux arent there anymore. Could be for a number of reasons:

In April one dealer told me I couldnt order Red Candy because the company that supplies them with that color was affected by the Japan earthquake.