Converting Non-powered sub to powered? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Converting Non-powered sub to powered?

Jason_25

Elite Explorer<br>ECX Member
Reaction score
City, State
New Bern, NC
Year, Model & Trim Level
'95 Explorer "Expedition"
Not explorer related.

But is this possible. I have a subwoofer that isn't powered and when I hook it up to my receiver it doesn't do anything. I'm assuming that it's because the receiver is only sending a non-boosted signal. Does this sound right? If so, how do I make the sub powered?

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Well I'm still a newb to car audio, but I know that you need to add an amp to boost the signal to the sub.

Yeah to have to have an amp to power the subwoofer. You can't run it off the headunit.

Cool. Could I get an amp from radioshack? If so, what kind would I need to buy? Thanks for the help guys.

Wal-Mart would be better, they'll have Jensen, Sony, and maybe Pioneer. The amp depends on the sub.

Oh i'm not looking for something high quality. I just want it to work. What would the price range for these things be?

100-300 i am guessing. you might want to check sears as well.

Holy crap. Maybe we're not talking about the same thing here. i just want something to power the sub. I already have one of those really expensive receiver things. I just want something I can run a rca cable to from my receiver and have the subwoofer wires plug into it.

BTW I am talking about my HOME system.

You can probabky pickup a descent amp from radio shack for you home system. I dunno any prices. You may want to get a crossover though to filter out the high frequencies so that you don't ruin the sub with the highs. They have the crossovers for about $13 for a 2 way.

Thanks for the input Casey. I will go check it out.