How do I replace the front brakes on a 1990 Ford Aerostar? | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

How do I replace the front brakes on a 1990 Ford Aerostar?

nopeda

Reaction score
Year, Model & Trim Level
1990 Aerostar
Hi,

Can anyone suggest a step by step page how to change the front brakes on a 1990 Ford Aerostar? It doesn't look like they bolt on at all, but there are some pin looking things. Do they have to be replaced each time? I hate to think some lame looking things like that are all that's holding the brakes on. Do they require a special tool? They look like they could give a hard time trying to get them back in. I'm no mechanic, so something weird looking like that makes me nervous...afraid I can get them off but won't be able to get them back on if they bur up or bend or something. Other than the shoes themselves, does anything else need to be replaced?

Thanks for any help!
David

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

If your rotors are not scored, just knock the roll pins out with a punch or screwdriver, replace the pads, then pound the pins back in with a hammer. If perchance they come out too easy, just widen the gap in the pins SLIGHTLY and pound them back in. Pad kits MAY have new roll pins, but I don't remember seeing any when I have changed my pads (which I need to do again soon).

If your rotor is scored, you will need to turn or replace it. If your cylinders are leaking, you need to replace them.

I am not a mechanic and I can change pads on my 93 in less than 30 minutes, including R&R of tires.

I just did this job a day or two ago so it's still fresh in my mind. Sorry, I didn't take any pictures.