Just Bought a 92 XLT Auto- Help me fix it? :) | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Just Bought a 92 XLT Auto- Help me fix it? :)

westcovinajoe

Reaction score
City, State
West Covina, Ca
Year, Model & Trim Level
91 Eddie Bauer
Hi,

I am new to this type of vehicle and there are several issues with it and a need a good dose of advice, as my tight budget forces me to keep this car and procede carefully with any repairs.

:exp: Issues:

1. It seems like the automatic transmission is having trouble shifting, especially from 1st to 2nd at low speeds. When I go fast like merging on to the freeway, it performs better.

2. The gas and oil gauges don't work. The gas shows empty and the oil just hangs in the middle.

3. The seat belts, the above steering wheel gear shifter, and door handles are very worn, and I would like to get them replaced.

4. The hatch door doesn't stay open, the springs appear dead.

Okay I paid $1250 for this 92 xlt, and it is something I want to keep. Since I am only mildly handy, and my previous cars were Toyotas, I am not used to fixing this stuff. If there is some way of finding out how to replace things like gear shifters and seat belts and door handles I would appreciate it so much.

Also, if you could advise me as to how to go about getting my tranny working better. Do these transmission services that some places do, do anything? They usually cost like $100...

If someone here wants to take me under their wing, I would appreciate it so much, and maybe make a small donation to you, or to you favorite charity.

Thanks, and I look forward to your replies,
Joseph in West Covina

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Welcome & I hope you keep coming back. Sounds like you have a lot of minor work to do. Not bad for a 92.