Need help identifying hose on 2000 4.0 SOHC | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Need help identifying hose on 2000 4.0 SOHC

Paulov

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm helping my son with his thermostat housing, and thanks to this thread http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=239493, two complete newbies managed to get the right parts and replace the housing. I really mean newbie, neither one of us had ever done any work under the hood.

But in the process one hose got damaged and we can't figure out the name of it let alone the part number. A couple trips to Kragen and the Dealership didn't help.

The hose is the one right in the middle of this picture
attachment.php

, the one that has a 90 degree angle "cup" and the white/yellowish plastic clip (which also broke).

It connects to the intake manifold and it comes of a "T". My guess here is that this is a vacuum hose, because it has three layers and it is sturdy as a pipe.

I've searched Rockauto, car-stuff, amazon, jc whitney and a few other sites, but I couldn't find anything that looks like this hose. I don't even know if it is called a hose and not a pipe.

So if any of you guys know the name of this part, it will help us a lot.
Thanks.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Looks like a fuel line. Autozone,etc... should have "repair kits", if you actually damaged the line itself. The clips should also be available, if that's all that's broken. Don't mess around w/ half-assed repairs here. That line contains high pressure fuel (40-60psi).

goes to fuel vapor management valve