• Register Today It's free!

P0741 no other symptoms

heli58

Reaction score
City, State
USAF Everywhere
Year, Model & Trim Level
99 xlt 2wd
Hey all, I hope someone can enlighten me on a issue I'm having. I'm new to the Transmission work world, but have a pretty good idea of how it all works... This one has me scratching my head, though and I need a quick resolution since I need the truck to move across the country.

I have a 99 XLT with 183k on the original transmission. I'm the original owner and have serviced it regularly.

I have the infamous "O/D off" light blinking, but unlike every other thread here, I have no other symptoms that I can detect. The computer posts a P0741 code, indicating slippage between the input and output or TCC not locked. It runs fine, accelerates well, shifts smoothly and all is well. However, at some point down the road (can't pinpoint when or what conditions cause it (temp or speed or power requirements, etc), the OD light will start blinking. Sometimes it will be 10 miles down the road, sometimes 300 miles down.

When it's blinking, if I deactivate the OD via the pushbutton on the shift lever, the OD will disengage, as expected, but when I reactivate it, it will shift back to OD, but apparently not lock up the TCC completely because it stays about 200 rpm higher than the previous condition (expected because of the code being set). If I turn off/on the engine, it will reset and again go all the way to O/D again, but start blinking again at some random point down the road.

All of the shops want to rebuild or replace the transmission ("especially with that kind of mileage on it"). I'm not so sure. I've had other vehicles last me way longer without a $1800-2800 rebuild.

I know something needs to be done, but can't decide where to start. TCC solenoid? Flush? (the fluid is clean, correct level and not burned), EPC solenoid, TC?