Treadwright Muds | Ford Explorer Forums - Serious Explorations

• Register Today It's free!

Treadwright Muds

Well its getting to be that time again, I need a set of new tires, but im a broke college student so how do i solve this problem? Ive found that the best way to satisfy my crave for offroad styling and performance with retread tires from the renown "Treadwright." here is the link to the tires that i will be purchasing...

http://www.treadwright.com/shopnow/product/tabid/61/productid/4/sename/30950r15-mud.aspx

And my initial question has to be... Has anyone ever purchased these tires before? If so, how many miles did you get out of them? Are they reliable?

Many people have been telling me how bad retreads are, and how dangerous they can be. However I'm willing to risk a blow out on campus at a whopping 15 mph. Occasionally I'll go offroad with my buddys and fraternity brothers, but nothing extreme by any means.

Besides, at $70 each, who doesn't want mud tires?

I'll be ordering them in about a week and a half. (Pay Day) and when they do get here, I'll take pics and let everybody know how they do.

Join the Elite Explorers for $20 each year.
Elite Explorer members see no advertisements, no banner ads, no double underlined links,.
Add an avatar, upload photo attachments, and more!

Search would get you some results but here is the thread thats going on about them
http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=230908

I ran the guard dongs on my old Explorer and there were awesome in the mud and rocks just seemed to have a fairly soft compound so they tend to chunk out a little bit. Mine had 15000 miles on them when I sold that Explorer and still had a ton of tred left, just balance them with bb's it will make you much happier.
There's pictures of what they looked like mounted on mine in this thread.http://www.explorerforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=272022